spice it up

You know it’s a good week when you get to write about sports and still post pictures like that…However, you’re probably wondering (but not complaining)…what does this have to do with Latinos and sports? Well, let me tell you.

The woman you are probably still looking at is Zuleyka Rivera (cool name right?) She is Miss Universe 2006 and she is not bad on the eyes. “so what?”  you say…well here’s the kicker…she’s from Puerto Rico. Just in case my writing isn’t clear, you can study this picture if you need to…

Zuleyka Jerris Rivera Mendoza was born on October 3, 1987 in Salinas, Puerto Rico. In 2006, she was named Miss Puerto Rico, and later that year she went on to be named Miss Universe as well. Now she lives in the United States and stars in Telenovelas such as Aurora and Alguien Te Mira.

So, if you’re smart and you’ve read this blog before, you know that this is a Latino sports blog, it’s not just a Latino blog. I don’t just write about any and every Latino. You won’t find the latest gossip on J-Lo’s relationships on this blog, I only write about Latinos that are somehow connected to sports. So you’ve probably figured out that this gorgeous former Miss Universe isn’t just featured on this blog because she is Puerto Rican and beautiful.

But the question still remains…why is she here? what did she do? …The answer is the portly, 5 foot 10″ Puerto Rican man pictured below…

Somehow, some way, the man pictured to your left managed to land the former Miss Universe you see above. Yeah, thumbs up man. I’d say he did pretty well. The man that deserves the congratulations is named J.J. Barea. He was also born in Puerto Rico (probably how he got his foot in the door with Miss Universe up there) and he know lives in Dallas. Barea measures in at 5’10”, just one inch taller than Rivera, who would dwarf him if wearing heels, but that didn’t seem to matter. Barea broke the ice and got the relationship by sending her a text. “I sent her a message to say hi, something simple like hope you’re doing good.”

Well apparently it worked, because the two are now dating. Oh yeah, did I mention that Barea plays in the NBA for the Dallas Mavericks?…maybe that has something to do with it…perhaps Rivera just couldn’t resist when watched JJ on TV doing moves like these…

You know, the more I think about it, I just don’t think that’s enough. There’s gotta be something more. There’s something that he’s got that that I don’t got…what is it?…I play basketball, I’m fairly short, I can give a great “thumbs up” like JJ….why am I not dating Miss Universe?…then it hit me…it’s gotta be the Latino flavor. That’s what I don’t have, that’s what separates me and JJ. All joking aside, I do think it is cool that this couple is staying to their roots and both dating a fellow Puerto Rican. Rivera could probably date anyone she wants, and although JJ isn’t the most stunning man in the world, he is a rich professional athlete, and I’m sure he has his choice of women as well, so I applaud this couple for sticking to their roots. One point for the Latinos.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

